Presidential E Awards: U.S Exporters Continue to Go for the Gold


The coveted eStar awards recognize exporters for their excellence in the export industry. But, most exporters don’t get anywhere near this presidential recognition. Here’s why, and how to apply and win this coveted award.

What Is It?

The E Star award is given to companies that have shown exceptional growth in the export business. During World War II, the award was given to war plants to recognize them for helping out with the war effort.

The famous flag with the “E” on it became a badge of patriotism. Then, it died. Once the war was over, and there were no more plants producing goods for the war effort, there was no need for the award.

In 1961, President Kennedy revived it, however, and reassigned it to companies that had shown excellence in exports. The reason for the revival? A lag in the U.S. export industry. Kennedy believed that recognizing businesses for their excellence in exports would boost morale and would help bolster the U.S. economy.

Who Receives It?

Companies that win the E award and E star award for exports are those that have had at least four years of contributions to the expansion of the export business. All of the applicants must explain and detail the results of their work.

They should be able to prove how they’ve contributed to the export industry and must be able to measure growth, show innovation, and show sustainability of their business.

The company must also prove that their business has a broad impact on the economy as a whole.

All applications are reviewed by the local U.S. Export Assistance Center, and are approved by the U.S. and Foreign Commercial Service Network Director.

Finally, the President of the United States presents the award to the companies.

How To Apply And Win

Applications must be turned in between November 2015 and January 2016 of the prior year. So, for example, if a company wanted to win in the 2016 year, it would have to apply between November 2015 and January 2016.

What kind of competition do you face?

Companies, like these for example, are prime examples of what it takes to win the E and E Star award.

ISO Stainless – a company that focuses on steel banding and strapping systems. It’s been a leader in steel banding and strapping since 2008, when it became the first Louisiana company to win the E Award. Then, in 2014, it became one of 8 companies in the U.S. to win the E Star award for exports.

Another contender, CTC Global, is a California-based company that makes transmission wiring. The company exports because most of the transmission wiring demand is overseas, not in the U.S.

Both companies are the best at what they do in their respective industries. Not only that, they demonstrate real results, have a dramatic impact on the U.S. economy, and have years of proven success in exports.

Steve Smith is an import/export investor. He likes to write abuot his trading insights on the internet. He articles appear mainly on business and financial websites.

About Mohit Tater

Mohit is the co-founder and editor of Entrepreneurship Life, a place where entrepreneurs, start-ups, and business owners can find wide ranging information, advice, resources, and tools for starting, running, and growing their businesses.

Speak Your Mind

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.